top of page

Lawn Chair Phone Holder

This craft is what made me want to create this blog in the first place. I saw what I thought to be a pretty complicated craft (for me), and said to myself, “you know what—I CAN do it, let me give it a try”. The first version came out less than perfect, but I LOVE it. I certainly use it all the time, and now that I have version two made, I love it even more. Version two will likely be a gift, or end up on my desk at work, where I’m sure to get a few “How did you DO that??”

You will need:

* 10 Popsicle sticks

* 10x8” cut fabric of your choice, lightweight is better

* Marker or paint to color your sticks

* Hot glue

* Ruler, scissors, craft knife, your phone to measure

Step One:

Measure your phone and cut two sticks at 1/4” longer. My phone was 3” so I cut two at 3 1/4”. Then cut four sticks to 3 1/2” length. Color all sticks your desired color, and if using paint, let dry fully.

Step Two:

Hot glue two full sized sticks with the two 3 1/4” sticks. Repeat with two of the 3 1/2” sticks and two remaining full sized sticks. You should have two boxes, one slightly bigger than the other once complete.

Step Three:

Place the smaller box inside the larger box, you’ll see the shape of the “chair” start to form.

Take the remaining 3 1/2” sticks and use them to create supports for the chair. Now your basic chair frame is complete, it’s time to add the fabric!

Step Four:

Cut out your desired fabric to 10” x 8”. Try to make sure the edges are pretty square because it’ll help you when it’s time to fold it over and hem it up. If you are using a piece of felt or a flexible foam paper, you can cut it to 3 1/4” by 8”. With the fabric I folded a hem and then doubled it up to make sure it was patterned evenly on both sides, personal preference of course, so if you choose to use less fabric by all means, go ahead.

Step Five:

Fold up your fabric and use your hot glue to create a hem, as both a fray check and it also makes the edges look nice. If you love sewing, feel free to sew a hem into the fabric here, and top stitch down each side.

Hot glue the seam as well to keep it all together.

Step Six:

Hot glue the fabric over the top and bottom popsicle stick frame. There is extra fabric on both ends and this will allow you to choose how loose you want your chair fabric to be, I prefer more of a tight fit, so I folded a hem and then folded it over and hot glued it in place.

Step Seven:

Enjoy your new cell phone holder! Or, as seen here, could also double as a TV remote holder! Really cool!

Stepped away to go get some coffee—and came back to this: Apparently these chairs are the perfect size for "my dolls to sit back and watch the sunset." Oh to be 5 again...

(she's right though!)

Final Verdict? Intermediate level craft, but you’ll feel really accomplished once you are all finished with it. This would be a great gift for someone who just got a beach house perhaps!

Kid Friendly? I’m going to say no here. It’s a lot of precise measuring and cutting, something I don’t attribute to the littles. I’d say teens and up for this one.

TRieD! And Succeeded!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page