top of page

Popsicle Stick Tree

Here's another kid friendly DIY ornament. I used hot glue because that's what I had on hand, and the kids were busy shopping with Daddy so I wanted quick results. If you do use a hot glue gun, please be careful because the sequins have little holes in the center, and there is a good chance you can burn yourself. Use tweezers or tape to protect your fingers. This came out really cute and sparkles nicely against the lights on my tree, and now the kids can't wait to make their own versions.

You Will Need:

* Popsicle Sticks

* Green Marker

* Glue

* Multi-colored Sequins

* String, twine, or yarn to hang the ornament

Step One:

Break your popsicle sticks down and arrange into a tree shape. Leave a space on the top for your star.

Step Two:

Color your sticks green. I'd recommend coloring both sides because if the ornament got turned around, as it could happen on a tree, you'd want it to look somewhat nice on both sides. Glue in place.

Step Three:

Use a few gold colored sequins and create a star at the top.

Step Four:

Pick different colors for each row and glue the sequins on.

Step Five:

Glue the string for hanging on. Place on your tree and enjoy!

Final Verdict? Not one of my favorites, but still very cute. My daughter loves sequins so this is right up her alley. I also "borrowed" her sparkly yarn for the hanging loop and she was excited about that as well.

Kid Friendly? Yes, but not with hot glue. Good old school glue and patience is best here!

Tried! And Succeeded!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page