top of page

Happy Snowman Door Hanger

Remember our sweet scarecrow craft a while back?

Not all door hangers need to be wreaths! And, not all decorations need to be single purposed! Back when I made our scarecrow, I had planned to flip him over and make a happy snowman for Christmas time - and basically for all of winter! Well today was that day, I got out my supplies and made my version of Frosty come to life!

You Will Need:

* Scarecrow Door Hanger

* Black, White, and Orange Paint

* Paint Brushes

* Wood Shim

* Wood Glue

Step One:

On the blank side of your scarecrow, glue an extra wood shim following the same diagonal as your scarecrow's hat. Allow to dry.

Step Two:

Paint your snowman's hat black and allow to dry. You could embellish with a ribbon, some holly, a cute poinsettia, or whatever you like - I was going for more of a simple design.

Step Three:

Paint your snowman's face white. It's okay if some of the wood shows through, it'll add a country style charm to it.

Step Four:

Using the black and orange paint, paint a carrot nose and outline in black, and then paint black "coal" eyes and mouth.

Step Five:

Once all dry find a great spot to hang your happy snowman!

Final Verdict? Gives a cute DIY a second life and gives you a cute door hanger you can use all winter long (or if you don't celebrate Christmas!)

Kid Friendly? I didn't have the kids help because I was going for quick, but they can definitely assist here, it's basic painting and basic shapes!

Tried! And Succeeded!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page