top of page

Sunny Days Wind Chime

Easy breezy summer days, sitting on your front porch or back patio watching the kids play, and in general just relaxing and let the time pass by. This scenario would not be complete without a beautiful space to enjoy it in, so here’s a DIY that will add a luxury feel, for just a few bucks, and it will look like it cost so much more! Pick colors that match your décor, pick your favorite color, or let your kids choose, after you make one, you’re going to want to make more!

You will need:

* 2 sticks, shims, or small pieces of wood, I used shims

* Assorted large size beads, lightweight plastic beads work well

* Washers, I used copper washers since it matched the color theme, assorted sizes

* Thread, I used cross stitch floss, as I knew it would be sturdy

* Key chain (for easy hanging)

* Hot glue, wood glue, super glue, pick your favorite

Step One:

Paint your wood pieces, if you desire, I chose to paint the shims yellow, I was going for bright and cheerful.

If you want to use sticks, make sure they are clean before you bring them inside, otherwise you might have some little critters on your craft table!

Step Two:

Using the glue of your choice, glue your two pieces of wood in a plus shape. Wrap them with yarn, or set something heavy on top to keep them together while drying. I used wood glue for this step.

Step Three:

Lay out your design, do whatever you feel looks best, I chose to use 9 strands going from the longest in the middle to the shortest on the outside. *Note* You’ll only see 8 strands here, I apparently couldn’t count and had to improvise part of the way through. I still love the end result so it’s all good.

Step Four:

Using your thread, start to string on and tie on the beads and washers, there is no rules here, eyeball it and do what you feel looks the best. I took the time to get the hot glue gun out and reinforce all the knots, if you feel you want to skip that step, entirely up to you.

Step Five:

Attach the key chain to the top, string it through the thread, and then use some glue to make sure it doesn’t slide all over the place. Find a nice sunny place to display it, grab some iced tea, sit back, and enjoy. You’ll notice it’s not perfect, nothing I make ever is. A great tip I’ve learned over the years is that you should never try to be perfect, you should always try to be unique instead. (Ignore that my house is in desperate need of a power washing, ha!)

Final Verdict? Pretty outdoor decoration, total cost under $10, and completely customized to my desires (and favorite color!) of a yellow sunny front porch decoration. I love it.

Kid Friendly? I let Boose paint the shims, but that’s about where her involvement ended. I’m not sure a child has patience to tie and glue, tie and glue, do it neatly, and make it look as finished as an adult can. I’d say no for kids here.

TRieD! And Succeeded!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page