top of page

Welcome Sunshine

I’ve been seeing more and more of these pallet style signs on Pinterest, so I decided to give one a try! Using some leftover shims from another project I was able to create a rustic pallet look. The finished product is really...well...meh. But if you are more of an artist than I am I can see this coming out really cute! For those of you who aren’t artists—I highly recommend you follow my advice I should have taken and get a stencil!

You will need:

* 6 shims

* Wood Glue

* Twine or String

* Paint and Stain

* Artistic Ability or Stencils

Step One:

Take one of your shims and cut it in half, use those pieces as the braces with some wood glue. Let dry overnight.

Step Two:

Paint or stain your sign. I love dark wood, so I chose a red oak stain. Allow plenty of time to dry.

Step Three:

Paint your design! Mine was a two step process, first painted the sun and let that dry, then painted the “Welcome”. I initially intended to let the sun be the “O”, but it looked funny. It still looks funny, but at least you can see that it says “Welcome” now.

Step Four:

Hang in your desired location. Mine is off my mailbox, since I don’t have an easy hook area on the front door. I will likely be making another one of these and then banishing this one to my office since I’m not too impressed with my painting skills.

Final Verdict? Nice alternative to the traditional wreath for a front door. I can see myself making this again, but using a stencil or template for the writing or image.

Kid Friendly? No, but I can see little fingerpainted hands on this as a really cute gift for grandparents, maybe a little sign they can hang in an office or kitchen?

TRieD! And Meh...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page