top of page

Scarecrow Door Hanger

Nothing quite makes a house feel welcoming more than a wreath. But wreaths can feel very stuffy and formal at times, and in my house full of whimsy we like to do things a little different! So I created this very cute wooden shim scarecrow door hanger. I saw some similar pieces created as porch decor on Pinterest and wanted to adapt it to hang on the front door! You know you have a winner when the hubby turns and says "Oh! That's cute!" (Pat's self on back). Anyway, you all know how much I like to keep things simple, imperfect, and super cute! This is so beyond simple, and CHEAP to make!!! Make a scarecrow, but then - make another (you'll have left over shims!) you can use black and green paint and make yourself a Frankenstein for Halloween! Just put the diagonal shim straight for Frankenstein's neck screws!

You Will Need:

* 8 Wooden shims

* Wood glue

* Dark Stain

* Wide black marker

* Twine, yarn, or string

* Multi color Markers or paint for accents

Step One:

Glue your shims together, I took the extra step to glue them side by side first and then glue the diagonal shim across them all. I just eyeballed it to where it looked nice. (Embrace the messy glue job, ha!)

Step Two:

Stain the hat portion of the door hanger, make sure you get the sides and top of the diagonal shim.

Step Three:

Draw on your scarecrow face - note I am not an artist and you don't have to be either! He's so cute in him imperfection! Note: the glue will dry transparent, so seeing what you see below wont last forever (I was just super impatient!)

Step Four:

Hang and enjoy all season long!

Final Verdict? I'm just going to say YES. I know you have that question in your head "Can I make this? Should I make this?" Refer back - YES! Know anyone celebrating a fall birthday? Gift them this and watch them smile!

Kid Friendly? I don't see why not! In fact, if you are a little worried, drop it down to popsicle stick size and let them make a fridge magnet version, or a little ornament size version...hmmmm....I might just do that with them!

Tried! And Succeeded!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page